Unit 234 News

Unit Board Meeting Summary

The Unit Board met on Wednesday, January 11. Judy Bevan, Liz Gilman, Shari Krentzel, Pat Lechtenberg, Pat Lombardi, and Jerry Sloan were present. Lester Dalton, Judy Hildreth, Lois Jones and Jim Masilamani were absent.

Resignations were received from Chris Lane and Pete Petillo. The board expresses appreciation to Chris and Pete for their hard work and long service on behalf of Unit 234.

Judy Bevan was appointed treasurer and Jana Goodman was appointed to fill one of the two vacancies.

The Unit board awarded a small cash subsidy to Dave Chipman, Elizabeth Jankord and Jerry Sloan top winners of the unit NAP final who played in the district final in Oklahoma City on November 12.

The Free State Winter Sectional will be February 3-5 at the Holidome in Lawrence. Shari Krentzel and Jerry Sloan are tournament co-chairs. Carol Ball and Shari Krentzel are in charge of partnerships.

Northeast Kansas Unit 234 and Amarillo, Texas will host a split regional tournament in August. NE KS tournament will be held in Topeka at Capitol Plaza on August 15-19, 2012 – with a Charity Game the evening of August 14.

2012 Regional in Topeka August 15-19, 2012 Charity Game August 14 evening

Save the date and spread the word!

Volunteer to help! Lots of people each doing a few things is less work and stress than a few people each doing lots of things

– and makes for success!

January 2012

Nominations Open for Annual Election

Lester Dalton is chairing the Nomination Committee for the annual Unit 234 board elections. Unit members in good standing with ACBL and Unit 234 are eligible to be nominees.

September 2011 Sunflower Sectional Unit 234 Winners

Total masterpoints: 607.07 earned by 169 players.

Total attendance: 168 tables.

13.72 John Turner, Lawrence

10.03 Steven Vossler, Lawrence

7.77 John Hickey, Lawrence

5.42 Ed Howard, Lawrence

4.85 Peter Petillo, Lawrence

4.22 Mark Osborn, Lawrence

4.05 Katha Hurt, Manhattan

3.56 Jeffrey Nash, Shawnee Msn

3.55 L Schottler, Manhattan

3.51 Jolene Andersen, Lawrence3.22 Craig Huneke, Lawrence

3.02 Emily Foster, Lawrence

2.71 Virginia Hamilton, Topeka

2.71 Elizabeth Gilman, Topeka

2.70 Grant Sutton, Lawrence

2.45 Marilyn Martin, Lawrence

2.17 Janet O'Connor, Lawrence

2.16 Kit Carlsen, Lawrence

2.08 James Masilamani, Topeka

2.04 Eldon Herd, Lawrence

2.03 John Fittell, Lawrence

2.03 Adelaide Nyquist Lawrence

1.91Janie Bartlett, Topeka

1.81 Jeremy Martin, Lawrence

1.81 Hailong Dao, Lawrence

1.81 Brandon Humpert, Lawrence

1.74 Margrete Hartman, Lawrence

1.74 Albert Ballard Jr, Lawrence

1.70 Angie Davidson, Lawrence

1.67 Lois Clark, Lawrence

1.56 Carol Ball, Lawrence

1.52 Virginia Seaver, Lawrence

1.43 Mona Bell, Lawrence

1.40 Paul Heitzman, Eudora

- 1.39 W. Sue Danker, Manhattan
- 1.28 Ronald Jenkins, Lawrence
- 1.24 Judy Hildreth, Wamego
- 1.23 Shari Krentzel, Oskaloosa
- 1.23 Sally Taylor, Lawrence
- 1.23 Nita Scales, Lawrence
- 1.23 Klee Zaricky, Topeka
- 1.23 Kathryn Loseke, Topeka
- 1.16 Michael Kelly, Topeka
- 1.12 Amit Chakrabarti, Manhattan
- 1.07 Patti Griffitts, Ozawkie
- 1.07 Julie Frisbie, Grantville
- 0.96 Freda McKeithan, Shawnee Msn
- 0.96 David Piro, Lansing
- 0.77 Chris Lane, Lawrence
- 0.75 Robert Guenther, Bucyrus
- 0.75 Jack Flickinger, Lawrence
- 0.75 Dick Shaffer, Lawrence
- 0.73 Wanna Roszel, Lawrence
- 0.58 Bobby Patton, Lawrence
- 0.54 Yvonne Hedges, Lawrence
- 0.51 Mary Fenlon, Leavenworth
- 0.51 Lester Dalton, Leavenworth
- 0.50 Jacquie Brewer, Manhattan
- 0.50 Ellen Hoover, Manhattan
- 0.49 Janice Hollowell, Leavenworth
- 0.41 Virginia Eddy, Baldwin City
- 0.39 Donna Johnson, Lawrence
- 0.25 Mary Locniskar, Lawrence
- 0.25 Deronda Ashley, Lawrence
- 0.25 Clarice Broz, Lawrence

Unit 234 Winners of 2011 Ace of Clubs and Mini-McKenney Races

Ace of Clubs

0 to 5 Michael D Kelly 25.23 (#4)

5 to 20 Ronald Jenkins 27.19 (#11)

20 to 50 Janice Barton 13.76

50 to 100 Ken Gudenkauf 35.50 (#10)

100 to 200 Barbara B McCorkle 21.33

200 to 300 Frances M Scully 18.51

300 to 500 Vince Nordberg 62.17 (#10)

500 to 1000 Grant Sutton 60.15

1000 to 2500 Paul Heitzman 60.72

2500 to 5000 Steven Vossler 113.10 (#7)

5000 to 7500 Ed Howard 42.12 (#10)

(#) indicates standing in District #15

Mini-McKenney

0 to 5 Michael D Kelly 40.63 (#2)

5 to 20 Ronald J Jenkins 40.61 (#13)

20 to 50 W Sue Danker 27.67 (#23)

50 to 100 Ken Gudenkauf 43.26 (#19)

100 to 200 Jolene Andersen 36.59

200 to 300 Jim Stewart 34.58

300 to 500 Vince Nordberg 106.78 (#11)

500 to 1000 Grant Sutton 93.63

1000 to 2500 Elizabeth C Jankord 307.75 (#3)

2500 to 5000 Steven Vossler 170.86 (#22)

5000 to 7500 Dr. Ed Howard 383.59 (#7)

(#) indicates standing in District #15

You can check your own status in Ace of Clubs and Mini-McKenney races at both unit and district levels on the ACBL website. Updates are made on the 6th of each month.

Free State Winter Sectional Bridge Tournament

February 3-5, 2012 Lawrence, Kansas NE Kansas Unit 234

Lawrence Holiday Inn Holidome and Convention Center 200 McDonald Drive, Lawrence, KS 66044 Phone: 785-841-7077

Friday Morning Single Session Swiss
Friday and Saturday Afternoon and Evening
Single Session Open Pairs
Saturday--3 session KOs (9 a.m., 1:30 p.m.
and 7 p.m.) Saturday afternoon 199ers
Open Pairs (min. 3 tables)
Sunday Stratiflighted Swiss
Hospitality following Friday and Saturday
Afternoon and Evening Sessions.

Tournament Co-Chairs:

Jerry Sloan 785-749-5805 <u>jerry.e.sloan@att.net</u> and Shari Krentzel 786-863-2167 krentzel@tkmetals.com

Partnerships:

Carol Ball 785-842-1682 and Shari Krentzel 785-863-2167 krentzel@tkmetals.com